Skip To Main Content

Student Council

Image

What is a Student Council?

A student council is a group of student leaders who work with an adult advisor to collaborate with others to impact their school community, which impacts their city or town, which impacts our state, which impacts our country, which changes the world.
    - Definition created by 2008-09 TASC State Officers and District Presidents

OBJECTIVES OF STUDENT COUNCILS

  1. To initiate, implement, and complete projects and activities which will be of help to the school, the students, the faculty, the administration, the Board of Trustees and the community. 
  2. To develop and provide opportunities for leadership and service in the local school and in the community. 
  3. To encourage personal growth of leaders through participation in district, state and national meetings and organizations. 
  4. To provide a living workshop of democratic processes, through such activities as elections, participation in a constitutional representative assembly, etc. 
  5. To contribute to the educational experiences of students by providing them with a positive involvement in the school, with widened areas of responsibilities and with more direct participation in organizing and implementing activities. 
  6. To promote respect for law and order and general welfare of the school and community. 
  7. To promote an awareness of human relations, of power structures and how one effectively operates within them. These objectives are realistically approached through increasing avenues of cooperation among the administration, faculty and students.
  8. To provide a viable means for student expression and an increasing amount of self-direction. 
  9. To improve understanding between and within groups through interaction and communications. 
  10. To develop student potential and encourage to make a well-informed, honest, interested and active citizenship. 
  11. To develop not only leadership abilities within the youth of today, but also leadership for the community, state and nation of tomorrow. In this process, it is also the objective to develop an awareness of good leadership qualities, hopefully, for a more informed, concerned and active citizenry of tomorrow. 
  12. To increase student involvement and school pride.
There are no resources to display
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Mon, Jul 22
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3